Blog Launch Tomorrow!

pretty+dame+awesome will be launching tonight…or really tomorrow morning at the stroke of midnight.  That will be fun for the internet servers seeing as how everyone and your grandmother will be sending emails, texts, and facebook uploads till the wee hours of the morning!  First, even though this information is already in the About section I wanted to let everyone know what’s up with this blog.

First off: Hello!  I am Alaina, the creator of this blog.  I started this blog as a New Year’s resolution project to myself.  To be honest, I am a very ordinary woman in how a present myself to society.  No wild makeup, I don’t dye my hair outlandish colors (at least not permanently) and I normally stick with a pair of jeans and a tank top.

I have always been fascinated by the fashion ads in magazines that are trying to sell a watch but what I see is a bunch of women dressed as lizards in a dirty street in Shanghai.  I thought “How awesome!  I wish I was that creative.”  Which was immediately followed by “Why can’t I be?”

The main purpose of this blog is to encourage and educate anyone wanting to do a photo shoot, digital editing, advertisement design, DIY project, or makeup experimentation and tell them that it’s alright to do it.  You won’t be perfect your first couple of tries but I have never met a person who didn’t make a mistake before.  If anything, this project has boosted confidence in my appearance.

At the start of the month, I’ll throw out at least a dozen or more photos that I took with timers and remotes and then over the course of the month I’ll show you all how I did some of the makeup, photo editing, and do-it-yourself tutorials. I’m also interested in using different types of non-traditional cameras to see if I can get a different kind of look (ie, webcam, cellphones, and GoPro).  I guess you could say this is like the ultimate selfie project!

So make sure you came back later tonight (or tomorrow afternoon when you finally get up from New Year’s) and check out the blog as it will be fully up with the first set of photos of the year!

Leave a Reply

