The Force Awakens Countdown : Jedi Crush

Old Ripped VHS of Star Wars from my parents little black book
Old Ripped VHS of Star Wars from my parents little black book

My first sustainable memory of watching any Star Wars movie was Return of the Jedi on a busted bootleg VHS copy on my parents ripped tape collection.  Basically, every tape had three movies per tape so I had to fast forward to the last one…in reflection I have no idea what’s on the rest of those tapes.  Now I didn’t know it was Return of the Jedi since my parents labeled it as merely “Star Wars” in our black book of VHS knowledge.  And on a personal note I am delighted that this movie was on a VHS with Chuck Norris AND Michael York!

Mark Hamill as Luke Skywalker

I remember Luke all in black and little 4 year old me being totally in love with Mark Hamill.  I recall Yoda and Jabba the Hut so I was shocked to find out that this was the third and last movie in a series of three!  Remember…4 years old, I truly didn’t know any better.

Did this experience spoil the reveal in Empire?  It did and it didn’t but I’ll get to that when I get to that movie.  Jedi was my first and I was in love!  I loved the science fiction and “magic” combination.  I am a product of the 80’s..He-Man and Jayce and the Wheeled Warriors were my shows of choice. Of course I was confused by the plot but the movie is pretty strong on it’s own and I was able to put a few pieces together.  After I watched the whole trilogy in order I got a HELL of a lot more out of it but as for a little 4 year old me I was definitely hooked!

Granted, this is my first but not my absolute favorite. It holds a sentimental spot in my heart and I was able to recognize Alec Guinness right away after!

As a direct result of this blurry, pirated VHS copy of the series I insisted we get the others on legit cassette which brings me to my birthday gift later that year…

Leave a Reply

